Skip to content
whichdevtool?
Categories ▾

Frameworks and UI

Frontend and full-stack frameworks Backend frameworks UI component libraries

Hosting

VPS and cloud servers App hosting and PaaS

Data

Managed databases File and object storage ORMs and database toolkits

AI

AI model APIs

Email

Transactional email APIs Email marketing and newsletters

Payments

Payments and billing

Domains and edge

Domain registrars CDN, DNS and edge security

Operations and identity

Monitoring, uptime and error tracking Auth and identity Background jobs, queues and workflows
Stacks Directory
Ctrl K

Search directory
Menu
StacksDirectory Pricing changes Glossary
VPS and cloud servers App hosting and PaaS Managed databases Transactional email APIs Email marketing and newsletters Domain registrars CDN, DNS and edge security Monitoring, uptime and error tracking Auth and identity Frontend and full-stack frameworks Backend frameworks UI component libraries AI model APIs File and object storage Payments and billing Background jobs, queues and workflows ORMs and database toolkits
  1. Home
  2. AI model APIs
  3. OpenRouter

Model router (unified API)

OpenRouter

One API and one credit balance for models from OpenAI, Anthropic, Google and many open-model providers, with free models and provider fallback.

Visit openrouter.ai ↗ Alternatives Free tier
openrouter.ai
OpenRouter homepage
§1

Overview

OpenRouter is a router: one API key, one credit balance and an OpenAI-compatible endpoint that reach models from OpenAI, Anthropic, Google, xAI and a long list of open-model providers. It can fall back to another provider when one is down and lets you filter providers by price, latency or data policy.

You pay the listed model price, which usually matches the underlying provider, plus a 5.5% fee when you buy credits. If you already have provider accounts, bring-your-own-key routing is free up to $25,000 of list-price inference a month on pay-as-you-go and costs 5% after that.

The free plan covers models marked free, with a limit of 20 requests a minute and 50 a day, rising to 1,000 a day once you have bought $10 of credits. OpenRouter says it does not train on your data, and zero-data-retention routing is available on all plans; the providers behind free models have their own policies, so check them before sending sensitive data.

§2

Pricing and plans

Free tier · no card

Free models at up to 20 requests per minute and 50 requests per day; 1,000 per day once the account has bought at least $10 of credits.

At the limit Not stated The vendor does not say what happens at the limit, or we have not found it yet.

Plan Price What you get
Free $0 Free models only: 50 requests/day, 20 RPM
Pay as you go 5.5% fee on credits Model prices as listed; BYOK free to $25,000 list-price inference/month, then 5%
Enterprise Custom Fee discounts, BYOK free to $200,000/month then 5%, custom DPA

Read 2026-09-29 on openrouter.ai/pricing. Per-model token prices are shown on each model page and generally follow the underlying provider's price. The 5.5% platform fee applies when buying credits. Bring-your-own-key (BYOK) usage is free up to $25,000 of list-price inference a month on pay-as-you-go ($200,000 on Enterprise), then 5%. OpenRouter states it does not train on your data; provider-side retention can be disabled and zero-data-retention routing is available on every plan. Individual providers behind free models set their own data policies.

Source: openrouter.ai/pricing · prices as published, excluding tax.

§3

What it does

Unified API
OpenAI-compatible endpoint for proprietary and open models from many providers.
Provider routing and fallback
Requests are load balanced across top providers with automatic fallback; sort by price, throughput or latency and set price caps.
Free models
Selected models at $0 with daily request limits.
Bring your own key
Use your provider keys with no fee up to a monthly threshold.
Zero data retention routing
Route only to providers that do not retain prompts, on every plan.
§4

Strengths and limitations

Strengths

  • Switch between proprietary and open models without code changes or extra accounts.
  • Free models for prototyping without a card.
  • Prepaid credits bound total spend.
  • Data-policy filters, including zero data retention.

Limitations

  • A 5.5% fee on credit purchases on top of model prices.
  • Free models are limited to 50 requests a day until $10 of credits is bought.
  • Performance and data handling depend on the underlying provider chosen for each request.
  • BYOK costs 5% above $25,000 of monthly list-price inference on pay-as-you-go.
§5

Who it suits

Good for

  • Apps that compare or switch between many models
  • Prototypes that want free models and one key
  • Teams wanting failover across providers

Look elsewhere if

  • High-volume single-model workloads where the 5.5% fee adds up (go direct)
  • Enterprises that need a direct contract with the model maker
§6

Alternatives to OpenRouter

Tool From Free option Stages
Mistral API (Mistral Studio) AI model API (model maker)
Usage-based Free tier
Gemini API AI model API (model maker)
Usage-based Free tier
CI
Cerebras Inference Inference provider (open-weight models)
Usage-based Trial
OpenAI API AI model API (model maker)
Usage-based Paid
GC
GroqCloud Inference provider (open-weight models)
Usage-based Free tier
FA
Fireworks AI Inference provider (open-weight models)
Usage-based Trial

All AI model APIs →

§7

Questions

Does OpenRouter charge a markup?

OpenRouter charges a 5.5% fee on credit purchases; model prices themselves generally follow the underlying provider's price.

How many free requests does OpenRouter allow?

Free models allow 20 requests per minute and 50 per day, or 1,000 per day once your account has bought at least $10 of credits.

Does OpenRouter train on my prompts?

OpenRouter's pricing page says it does not train on your data; each provider sets its own policy, and zero-data-retention routing is available on every plan.

Sources read for this page

  • https://openrouter.ai/pricing
  • https://openrouter.ai/docs/guides/routing/provider-selection
Spec sheet
From
Free tier
Free tier
Free models at up to 20 requests per minute and 50 requests per day; 1,000 per day once the account has bought at least $10 of credits.
Stages
HobbyIndieStartupScale-upEnterprise Suits hobby, indie, startup, scale-up, enterprise
Models
OpenAI, Anthropic, Google, xAI, DeepSeek, Qwen, Llama and more
Free tier
Free models: 20 RPM, 50/day (1,000/day after $10)
Example price (per 1M tokens)
Provider list price + 5.5% fee on credit purchases
Open-weight models
Yes, alongside proprietary models
Open source
No
Self-host
No
EU data
Not stated
Category
AI APIs
Visit openrouter.ai ↗

To report an out-of-date price or limit, use the correction form.

whichdevtool?

Developer and cloud tools compared on price, free tier and limits, each with its source. For side projects, solo developers and small teams.

Categories

  • VPS and cloud servers
  • App hosting and PaaS
  • Managed databases
  • Transactional email APIs
  • Email marketing and newsletters
  • Domain registrars
  • CDN, DNS and edge security
  • Monitoring, uptime and error tracking
  • Auth and identity
  • Frontend and full-stack frameworks
  • Backend frameworks
  • UI component libraries
  • AI model APIs
  • File and object storage
  • Payments and billing
  • Background jobs, queues and workflows
  • ORMs and database toolkits

Research

  • Directory
  • Stacks by project
  • Developer news
  • Pricing changes
  • Glossary

Site

  • About and methods
  • How we make money
  • Suggest a tool or fix
  • Privacy
© 2026 whichdevtool.com Prices change. Each tool page links to its source. We may earn a commission when you sign up through links on this site. How we make money