Email marketing and newsletters
Mailchimp vs MailerLite
Mailchimp prices by stored contacts, gates automation by plan and offers 300+ integrations; MailerLite gives every paid plan the full feature set, starts at $12 and lists $89 for 10,000 subscribers.
The short answer
Both price by list size and both free plans stop at 250 contacts, but they allow different amounts: Mailchimp 500 sends a month with no scheduling or automation flows, MailerLite 2,500 emails and 3 automations of up to 5 steps.
On paid plans Mailchimp gates features by tier. Essentials starts at $13 (a 12-month offer price for 500 contacts) with flows of up to four steps; multi-step automation, up to 200 flows, needs Standard from $20. Unsubscribed contacts count toward the bill unless archived, and most tier prices are shown only in its calculator. MailerLite gives every paid plan the same features and publishes its table: Comfort starts at $12 and is $89 at 10,000 subscribers; Power starts at $25, is $129 at 10,000, and removes the caps on emails and automations.
Mailchimp’s case is its 300+ integrations and wide familiarity among agencies and freelancers. MailerLite is EU-based and includes a website and landing page builder.
Choose Mailchimp if
- You depend on many third-party integrations
- An agency or freelancer who already knows Mailchimp will run your email
- You send rarely and want pay-as-you-go credits
Choose MailerLite if
- You want published prices, such as $89 a month at 10,000 subscribers
- You want full automation on the cheapest paid plan
- You prefer an EU-based vendor with a built-in website builder
Side by side
| Mailchimp | MailerLite | |
|---|---|---|
| Stages | HobbyIndieStartupScale-upEnterprise | HobbyIndieStartupScale-upEnterprise |
| What it is | Email marketing platform | Email marketing platform |
| From | Essentials from $13/mo (500 contacts, 12-month offer price) | Comfort from $12/mo |
| Free tier | Up to 250 contacts, 500 sends a month (250 a day), 1 audience, 1 seat, Mailchimp branding, no scheduling and no automation flows | Up to 250 subscribers and 2,500 emails a month, 2 seats, 3 automations with 5 steps, 1 website and 1 landing page, 3 forms, limited API |
| Free plan | 250 contacts, 500 sends/mo | 250 subscribers, 2,500 emails/mo |
| 10k contacts/mo | — | $89/mo (Comfort), $129/mo (Power) |
| Automations | Essentials: 4-step flows; Standard: up to 200 flows | Free 3, Comfort 50, Power unlimited |
| Landing pages | Yes, all plans | Free 1, Comfort 10, Power unlimited |
| Open source | No | No |
| Self-hostable | No | No |
| EU data residency | Not stated | Available |
| Compliance | Not stated | Not stated |
| Checked | 28 Sept 2026 | 28 Sept 2026 |
| Strengths |
|
|
| Limitations |
|
|
Plans
Mailchimp
| Free | $0 |
| Essentials | From $13/mo |
| Standard | From $20/mo |
| Premium | From $350/mo |
MailerLite
| Free | $0 |
| Comfort | From $12/mo |
| Power | From $25/mo |
| Enterprise | Custom |