Email marketing and newsletters
Kit vs beehiiv
Kit’s free plan covers 10,000 subscribers but automations start at $33 a month; beehiiv is free to 2,500 subscribers with unlimited sends and builds in an ad network and 0% paid subscriptions.
The short answer
Both are for creators rather than product email, and both put automations behind a paid plan. Kit’s free plan is larger: up to 10,000 subscribers with unlimited broadcasts, landing pages and forms. beehiiv’s free Launch plan stops at 2,500 subscribers, with unlimited sends, a website, podcast hosting and custom domains.
At 1,000 subscribers, Kit Creator lists $33 a month with unlimited visual automations and sequences, and Pro $66; beehiiv Scale lists $49 with automations, the ad network, paid subscriptions and webhooks. At 10,000 subscribers beehiiv Scale lists $109, a figure from its April 2024 FAQ; Kit’s price at that size was not captured.
Monetisation differs. beehiiv takes 0% of paid subscriptions (Stripe’s 2.9% + $0.30 still applies) and runs a native ad network. Kit charges 3.5% + 30c per transaction and keeps 23.5% of Paid Recommendations earnings. Branding comes off on Kit Creator, but only on beehiiv Max or Enterprise.
Choose Kit if
- Your list is under 10,000 and you do not need automations yet
- You sell courses or digital products and want sequences to deliver them
- You want to remove branding on the entry paid plan
Choose beehiiv if
- You run a media-style newsletter and want sponsors placed through an ad network
- You want paid subscriptions with no platform take rate
- You publish a podcast and website alongside the newsletter
Side by side
| Kit | beehiiv | |
|---|---|---|
| Stages | HobbyIndieStartupScale-upEnterprise | HobbyIndieStartupScale-upEnterprise |
| What it is | Creator email marketing platform | Newsletter platform |
| From | Creator from $33/mo (1,000 subscribers, monthly) | Scale from $49/mo (1,000 subscribers) |
| Free tier | Up to 10,000 subscribers, unlimited landing pages, forms and broadcasts, tagging and segmentation, selling digital products; Kit branding and no sequences or visual automations beyond a basic one | Launch plan: up to 2,500 subscribers, unlimited email sends, newsletter, website and podcast, custom domains, API read access (no Send API), 1 team member; no automations |
| Free plan | 10,000 subscribers | 2,500 subscribers, unlimited sends |
| 10k contacts/mo | — | $109/mo (Scale) |
| Automations | Creator plan and up (unlimited) | Scale plan and up |
| Landing pages | Unlimited, all plans | Hosted website builder, all plans |
| Open source | No | No |
| Self-hostable | No | No |
| EU data residency | Not stated | Not stated |
| Compliance | Not stated | Not stated |
| Checked | 28 Sept 2026 | 28 Sept 2026 |
| Strengths |
|
|
| Limitations |
|
|
Plans
Kit
| Free | $0 |
| Creator | $33/mo |
| Pro | $66/mo |
beehiiv
| Launch | $0 |
| Scale | From $49/mo |
| Max | From $96/mo billed annually |
| Enterprise | Custom |